Foster Care

I was in foster care for a period of time growing up. I don’t remember exactly everything and I feel kind of embarrassed because I don’t.

But here are things I do remember.

1. My foster mom Carol. She is truly an remarkable woman. Constantly she is always helping out others from the goodness in her heart. I’ve always looked up to her for a lot of reasons even though we had a bumpy relationship for a while.

2. My foster sisters. We aren’t as close anymore but still keep in contact on Facebook currently. They played a big role in us being in foster care. They were always nice and accepting. We never really went into detail about why we were there or about our history in our families but all of us respected that. I’m proud of who they are and who they have become.

3. American Girl Dolls Galore. My foster mom got us American Girl Dolls and immediately got us hooked! My oldest foster sister has a bunch as well. She had i think all of them. She was older and had them on stands in her room. Sometimes she would let us touch them or look at them. I remember a few times we actually got to play with them! I had the Samantha doll. My sister Jessica had the Felicity doll. We even got the pajamas that matched our dolls! We got sets like the tea set, the bunk bed and regular bed, and the birthday set.

4. My foster mom’s homemade bread. She would make the most amazing yummy smelling bread! It was always so delicious. I loved smelling it and watching her as she would prepare it.

5. My foster mom’s cookies. She had the best cookies ever. I don’t remember what kind they were but I remember what they look like. So yummy!

6. The flowers and plants. My foster mom had a green thumb, that’s for sure. She grew and planted the most beautiful flowers and plants ever along the sides of her house and the backyard.

7. The garage. It was kind of small but perfect for forts. We would build forts in the top part of it and pretend anything our imagination would lead us.

8. The attic. For a while I was scared of it because it was different. But after a while it was awesome going up there. My foster mom had so much interesting things in there.

9. My foster mom’s computer games. She had these really cool computer games that actually taught us a lot. I remember a space type of game that was super fun that taught you how to do math.

10. The bed time stories. My foster mom would always read to us bed time stories. It was my favorite part of the night.

11. The bathroom. Weird I know but something about the bathroom was interesting to me. It was pretty and calm.

12. The room. My foster mom had a room, not sure what kind of room it’s called but it was attached to the kitchen and dining room and had windows all around it mostly. Maybe it was like a porch type room? I’m not sure. But it had a door to the backyard in it too I think. The best part about the room was that there were a bunch of plants in there and we would sit in there and read and do arts and crafts. I loved it.

13. All the things we’d do. We did a lot with my foster mom. We went horse back riding before with her. We would play at the park with her. She would go on drives and trips. We went to camps.

14. Bethal Horizon Camp. We went to Bethal Horizon Camp for the first time and we fell in love with it. We had never heard about it before until she told us about it and dropped us off to go. It was awesome.

15. My foster mom’s cat. Her cat Amy kind of saved my sister Jessica. She was able to relax and not have so much stress on her shoulders and be able to play with her cat. I was kind of jealous for a while since Amy only wanted to play with Jessica but they were fit for each other.

16. Things about my foster mom. How she smelled always good, how she always helped everyone out, her cooking, her lifestyle, her attitude towards life, her generosity, weird to remember but the way she would close all the blinds and turn off all the lights in her room when she would change (I understand why lol but it was different to me because I’d never knew anyone to do that but it kind of has stuck with me now), her strength, her smile, how smart she is, how consistent she was and is, how she believes in everyone regardless if they believed in themselves, her love.

17. How my foster mom accepted us from the beginning. She never acted like something was wrong with us or acted like we weren’t hers. She would treat us as if we were her flesh and blood, her family which we became.

4 thoughts on “Foster Care

Leave a Reply

