My Brother

I got to catch up with one of my brothers today. It was very nice and much needed.

My brother’s name is Aaron. He’s younger than me. We didn’t grow up together very much and haven’t been as close as we should be. Much of our childhood, we grew up as cousins really, not brother and sister. We live in Wisconsin but not near each other. We see each other about every year for our family’s Christmas get together once but that’s about it. When we do see each other, it has always felt kind of awkward in a way because we don’t know each other at all.

I will admit that I don’t know much about him. I don’t know his favorite color. I don’t know his favorite food. I don’t know what his favorite things to do are. I don’t know what his dislikes are. I don’t know really anything about him. He doesn’t know anything really about me or my littles. That is painful to say. I haven’t been the big sister like I should have or a good sister period.

I have felt jealous for a long time because my cousin’s got to grow up with him and be his brother and sister and I didn’t. They know him and are very close with him. You can tell by the way they look at each other, talk to each other, and are around each other. I used to be mad about that. But now since I’m older, I’m happy they are there for him and got to grow up with him so he had a chance with a real family. They have blessed him so much and helped him grow into an amazing young man.

Anytime I see my brother, I see him as a baby that I once remember him as which was really the last time we lived together or spent time with each other. We grew up together I think only for a few years maybe but he was a baby then and I was little. He was the cutest baby ever! After a while, my sister, my two brothers, and I got taken away from my mom for a while. My sister and I stayed together in foster care because we wouldn’t let go of each other. My brother Alex went to a different foster home. My brother Aaron went to my aunts and got adopted by her and her husband. I don’t remember seeing him for a while after that except when we’d go to my grandpa Larry’s sometimes and since I’ve become older, now once a year on Christmas. I still remember his little baby face. That’s the Aaron I knew. Not this Aaron that he has become.

He has become such a generous, thoughtful, deserving, inspiring, hard worker, smart, and special young man. I’m beyond proud of him and everything he has accomplished. I’m proud that he got adopted by my aunt and uncle so that he could have a better life and could be on the right track in life. He is the most amazing young man. I’m proud to say he is my brother and the uncle to my littles.

I’m sad to say that I don’t know him very well and that he doesn’t know me very well but I’m excited for my littles and I to start getting to know him! I’m glad we caught up today a bit and expressed the way we feel and planned how we are going to get to know each other better.

Leave a Reply

