I Couldn’t Do it

I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t just lay here and listen to my little cry and scream his eyes out.

I tried to calm him down in every possible way before I gave up and laid down myself. Felt like such a failure. I used to be able to do the cry it out thing when I was younger because I was told it was okay.

But now I see how much sadness, helplessness, and bad things are connected with it. When my little’s cry, I know realize that there’s so much behind it. Littles are people too. Littles have feelings, sometimes big feelings that they don’t know how to express themselves or understand those big feelings. They have every right to get mad, sad, frustrated, stressed, happy, excited, etc. They have every right to have any feeling that they have and have every right to express those feelings. Our job is to help them learn healthy ways to express those feelings, along with our other jobs as parents.

I went into his room, scooped him up, laid him on his bed, laid down with him, cuddled, rubbed his hair, and rubbed his back. He actually calmed down!!!! He did cry for a few minutes but did calm down as well. I was amazed and happy. It meant the world to me that finally I was able to calm him down for the first time in a long time, which really has been a struggle since the postpartum depression.

Both of my littles are in my bed now. Needless to say, I’m kind of a pushover with my littles at night times.

What can I say? They are my life. Love my littles 💞

image

2 thoughts on “I Couldn’t Do it

Leave a Reply

