Day 8 Blog Challenge

Day 8 Blog Challenge: Name something that you have been struggling with and have made progress with.

For me, a big thing has been being a parent. I was scared when I was pregnant with both of my littles mainly because I don’t know how to be a parent. I have never had the best parent role models in my life so I didn’t know what to do or what not to do. I had the perfect parent image in my head but I wasn’t sure if it was right or logical. I have always thought I’m ruining my little’s lives and that I have no clue what I’m doing and have been down on myself completely about it. So much so that I always would second guess myself and doubt myself as a parent.

Well I had a break through in my counseling this week about that. My counsler knows about this issue I’ve been having for a long time and helped me a lot on it. She said yes you may not know what you’re doing, but you are doing everything you should be doing. Like with volunteering at the Salvation Army for thanksgiving, no one told me to do that or forced me to. I came up with the idea on my own so that my littles and I could give back to the community that has helped us out in our times of need majorly and also so that it could teach my littles appreciation for what we have, respect for others, the importance of giving back, and the joy of helping others. It was such a amazing thing we did together and I’m so glad we did it. I never thought of it that way. Also like with people that were in our lives but no longer in our lives right now, my littles have asked a million times about those people and I have no clue what to say or if I’m saying the wrong thing. So I say, that those people are always in our hearts and maybe one day we will see them again. I also ask them how they feel about it and tell them how I feel. All of that that is age appropriate. I’m setting a example. I’m teaching them that life goes on and we will never know what’s going to happen or who is going to leave or stay but life goes on and always to enjoy the moments we do have with others and in life.

It helped give me more confidence in my parenting with my littles. I’m not a bad parent. I’m not ruining my little’s lives. I’m learning just as they are and enjoying our journey together in life.

Leave a Reply

